The A+D Museum

The A+D Museum explores the definitions of architecture and design, from the conceptual to professional practice.

We embrace the themes of technology, art, scale, and urbanism. A+D guides our community through the complex effects design has on our lives and the world around us. 

We are a profoundly inclusive institution, embracing the intersections between architecture and design, and social and environmental justice.

The Story of A+D Museum


A+D was founded by Stephen Kanner, Joe Addo, and Bernard Zimmerman in January 2001 and first opened our doors in the Bradbury Building in Los Angeles. Since then, we have had the privilege of getting to know diverse communities on the East and West sides of the city through our subsequent homes.


In 2015, we moved to Downtown LA’s Arts District, an environment that informed the experimental nature of our programming. The pandemic pushed us to question how a museum transcends its physical boundaries, continues to evolve as an institution with societal needs. The shift to a hybrid model comes as a natural progression of the museum’s history as an itinerant space.


In 2020 A+D Museum restructured the institution as a hybrid platform, both physical and digital, becoming more accessible and far-reaching than ever. Our interactive online presence gives us the opportunity to host programs across the globe. Through exhibits, symposia, multi-disciplinary projects, educational and community programming, A+D serves as a platform for contemporary issues in architecture and design that shape our built environment and our everyday experience. 

Our Museum Directors

Our Board of Directors


Mark Malan
Darwin Hu
Bixuan Zhang
Mira Singh
Veronica Scupine
Shreya Satodia


Many thanks to our 2021 Sponsors

The A+D thanks its generous supporters who help sustain our general operations.

Would you like to support The A+D Museum?

Learn more about the benefits of Membership, Sponsorship and Donation.